2019 Member Meeting Minutes DRAFT

Kansas Academy of Family Physicians June 7, 2019

Location:Wichita Marriott Hotel, Salons E-F, 9100 Corporate Hills Dr, Wichita, KS 67207Attendance:Over 100 members were in attendance.Recorders:Margaret BurnetteHandouts:Member Meeting Agenda

- 1. The meeting was called to order by President Jeremy Presley, MD, FAAFP at 12:43 p.m.
- 2. The Necrology Report was read. A moment of silence was observed for the following members who passed away since the last Member Meeting:
 - G. George Ens, MD, Hillsboro
 - Stanley W. Haag, MD, Coffeyville
 - Herman W. Hiesterman, MD, Quinter

- Orville "Tony" Mehaffy, MD, Baxter Springs
 - Clifton C. Schopf, MD, Wichita
 - Victor Joe Vorhees, MD, Fredonia
- 3. The minutes of the June 15, 2018 meeting were approved as presented.
- 4. The results of the district elections, which were conducted by mail, were reported:
 - District 1 Keith Ratzlaff, MD
 - District 3 Dirk Smith, MD
 - District 5 Danelle Perry, MD

- District 7 Jill Linville, MD
- KC Faculty Margaret Smith, MD
- Wichita Faculty Rex Keith, MD
- 5. Ballots were distributed to all life, active, and resident members to elect candidates. Members completed them and tellers collected them to count. Results were announced at the end of the meeting.
- 6. Dr. Presley introduced KAFP's incoming EVP, Tarah Remington Brown. Retiring EVP Carolyn Gaughan read excerpts from her winter EVP letter in the *Kansas Family Physician* on democracy requiring humility and boldness.
- 7. Other reports were published in the Conference Manual.
- 8. Consideration of Resolutions: Dr. Presley invited Dr. Jen Brull, MD, FAAFP, Chair of the Reference Committee, to the podium to chair the discussion of the resolutions.
 - A. Dr. Brull invited Dr. Dooley to read a letter on behalf of Dr. Tim Lawton, author of the resolutions, who was absent due to a family emergency.
 - B. Discussion was opened to all members regarding the resolutions. Testimony was heard from several different perspectives. The Board will take action at its meeting on Saturday.
- 9. Dr. Presley announced the results of the election:
 - Delegate: Doug Gruenbacher, MD (2 year term)
 - Alternate Delegate: Lynn Fisher, MD, FAAFP (2 year term)
 - President: Sheryl Beard, MD, FAAFP (1 year term)
- 10. Dr. Presley adjourned the meeting at 2:15 p.m.

- President-elect: Chad Johanning, MD, FAAFP (1 year term)
- Vice President: Jen McKenney, MD, FAAFP (1 year term)
- Secretary: Debra Doubek, MD, FAAFP (1 year term)