

7570 W 21st St N Bldg. 1026 Suite C 104 Wichita KS 67205 316.721.9005

Fax 316.721.9044

kafp@kafponline.org www.kafponline.org

#### President

Sheryl Beard, MD, FAAFP Andover

# **President-Elect**

Chad Johanning, MD, FAAFP Lawrence

## Vice President

Jennifer Bacani McKenney, MD, FAAFP Fredonia

# Debra Doubek, MD, FAAFP

Manhattan

#### Treasurer

Secretary

Gretchen Irwin, MD, MBA FAAFP, Andover

### Past-Pres. / Board Chair Jeremy Presley, MD, FAAFP

Dodge City

# **AAFP Delegates**

Jen Brull, MD, FAAFP Plainville Doug Gruenbacher, MD Quinter

#### **AAFP Alternate Delegates** Lynn Fisher, MD, FAAFP

Wichita Diane Steere, MD Wichita

## **Directors**

Wichita

Shana Jarmer, MD, Wellington Rex Keith, MD, Wichita Jill Linville, MD, Lakin Graig Nickel, MD, FAAFP Lawrence Danelle Perry, MD, Manhattan Keith Ratzlaff, MD, Olathe Tessa Rohrberg MD, Winfield Dirk Smith, MD, FAAFP

Margaret Smith, MD, MPH, MHSA, FAAFP, Kansas City Dereck Totten MD, MPH

# **Resident Representative**

Cooper Nickel, MD, Smoky Hill Family Medicine Residency

### Student Representative Jeremy Lickteig, KUSM-Wichita

**Executive Vice President** Tarah Remington Brown FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 21, 2019 Contact: Marina Spexarth

mspexarth@kafponline.org

# Nominations Open for the 2020 Family Physician of the Year

WICHITA, KAN. — The Kansas Academy of Family Physicians (KAFP) recognizes a member each year as its Family Physician of the Year. Please submit your nomination today for the 2020 award. The submission deadline is Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2019.

#### Criteria

Do you know a Kansas family physician going above and beyond to care for patients, is active in their community and is a good role model? KAFP's Family Physician of the Year is selected annually from among KAFP members in good standing who are directly and effectively involved in community affairs and activities that enhance the quality of life for their community. The Family Physician of the Year award is an established recognition program of the KAFP, conducted annually since 1990.

Nominees must be actively practicing family medicine at least 30 hours per week and a member of the KAFP. More than 90 percent of Kansas family physicians are members of the KAFP. You can view all of our past award recipients here. To allow an opportunity for all of our members to be recognized, past award recipients are ineligible.

## How to submit a nomination:

View the selection criteria and submit your nomination online or submit a letter detailing why your nominee is deserving of this year's award to:

Kansas Academy of Family Physicians 7570 W 21st St N #1026-C, #104 Wichita KS 67205

E-mail: mspexarth@kafponline.org

Fax: 316-721-9044

The winner will be announced in Feb.2020. The KAFP will honor the recipient at its annual CME conference, Fam Med Forward, June 4-6, 2020 at the Hilton Garden Hotel, Manhattan, Kan. The recipient will be nominated for the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) 2020 Family Physician of the Year award.

###

Founded in 1948, the KAFP represents nearly two thousand physicians and medical students statewide. It is the only medical society in Kansas devoted solely to primary care. A family physician takes care of the whole family, all ages, both sexes, each organ system and every disease entity. Research has proven that people with access to primary care have better health outcomes than those who do not. In Kansas, approximately onehalf of family physicians practice in non-metropolitan areas. Over 25 percent treat uninsured patients, especially children and families receiving public assistance. The

mission of the KAFP is to support and serve family physicians of Kansas as they advance the health of Kansans. For more information visit the KAFP website at <a href="https://www.kafponline.org">www.kafponline.org</a>.

For more information or to verify that your nominee is a KAFP member, contact: Marina Spexarth, Director of Communications by phone at (316)721-9005 or by e-mail – <a href="mailto:mspexarth@kafponline.org">mspexarth@kafponline.org</a>