

Phone 913.214.1117 Fax 913.815.4852

info@kafponline.org www.kafponline.org

President

Chad Johanning, MD, FAAFP Lawrence

President-Elect

Jennifer Bacani McKenney, MD, FAAFP Fredonia

Vice President

Debra Doubek, MD, FAAFP

Manhattan

Secretary

Jared Johnson, MD Wichita

Treasurer

Gretchen Irwin, MD, MBA FAAFP. Andover

Past-Pres. / Board Chair

Sheryl Beard, MD, FAAFP

Andover

AAFP Delegates

Jen Brull, MD, FAAFP *Plainville*Doug Gruenbacher, MD *Quinter*

AAFP Alternate Delegates

Lynn Fisher, MD, FAAFP Wichita Diane Steere, MD Wichita

KAFP-Foundation Pres.

Shelly Gruenbacher, MD

Directors

Rex Keith, MD, Wichita
Jill Linville, MD, Lakin
Graig Nickel, MD, FAAFP
Lawrence
Danelle Perry, MD, Manhattan
Jonathan Pike, MD
Great Bend
Keith Ratzlaff, MD, Olathe
Tessa Rohrberg MD, Winfield
Dirk Smith, MD, FAAFP Wichita
Margaret Smith, MD, MPH,
MHSA, FAAFP, Kansas City
Dereck Totten MD, MPH
Colby

Resident Representative

Gupreet Dhanda, MD Kansas City

Student Representative Hannah Berland, Salina

Chief Executive Officer Tarah Remington Brown

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

2021 Kansas Family Physician of the Year Nominations Open

Support Your Local Family Doctor

WICHITA, KAN. — The Kansas Academy of Family Physicians recognizes a member each year as its Kansas Family Physician of the Year. Please submit your nomination today for the 2021 award at https://kafponline.org/FPOY. The submission deadline is **Tuesday**, **Dec. 1**, **2020**.

The Kansas Family Physician of the Year award is an established recognition of the KAFP, conducted annually since 1990. Now more than ever, Kansas family physicians, especially those working on the front lines during the pandemic, deserve recognition and support from their communities.

Criteria

- Actively practicing family medicine in Kansas
- Demonstrates going above and beyond care for patients
- Active in community affairs and activities that enhance the quality of life for their community
- Portrays being a good role model
- Must be a KAFP member in good standing. More than 90 percent of Kansas family physicians are members of the KAFP. To confirm if your nominee is a member, send an email to info@kafponline.org.

To allow an opportunity for all of our members to be recognized, past award recipients are ineligible. You can view all past award recipients at https://kafponline.org/FPOY.

The winner will be announced in February 2021. The KAFP will honor the recipient at its annual CME conference, *Fam Med Forward*, June 10-12, 2021 at the Wichita Marriott. The recipient will be nominated for the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) 2021 Family Physician of the Year award.

###

The Kansas Academy of Family Physicians (KAFP) represents nearly 2,000 physicians and medical students statewide. It is the only medical society in Kansas devoted solely to primary care. Today, family physicians provide more care for the underserved and rural populations than any other medical specialty. Family physicians conduct approximately one in five office visits. Family medicine's cornerstone is an ongoing, personal patient-physician relationship focused on integrated care.