Calling all medical students! You are invited to attend this virtual Kansas Family Medicine Residency Fair featuring presentations from our four residency programs:

  • Ascension Via Christi Family Medicine Residency
  • KU Family Medicine Residency
  • Smoky Hill Family Medicine Residency
  • Wesley Family Medicine Residency

Don’t miss this opportunity to engage with each of the residency program’s residents and faculty!

Sign up today!

KAFP calls all members to volunteer to serve on an active committee or task force for 2020-2021. Through committee involvement you can provide input on Academy activities and help advance the mission of the KAFP.
The following active committees and task forces are seeking volunteers:
  • Communications/Awards Committee
  • Governmental Advocacy Committee
  • Membership & Member Services Committee
  • Professional Development Committee
  • Governance Restructure Task Force
  • Implicit Bias Training Task Force
  • Rural Health Summit Task Force
You can review the committees/task forces and a short description of their work and apply at: KAFPonline.org/about-us/board-of-directors/committees
Please submit your committee application by July 30 to ensure that your request is reviewed during our upcoming appointment process. If you have questions, please contact info@kafponline.org. Thank you for your interest and commitment to KAFP.
KAFP’s Government Relations Liaison, Dodie Wellshear has provided a summary of the 2020 legislative session. Access the 2020 Legislative Summary along with Legislative Updates throughout the session here.
Legislation passed included:
  • HB 2016 – Omnibus COVID-19 Response
  • Healthcare Provider Immunity (Section 10)
  • Telemedicine (Section 20)
  • Hospitals and Medical Care Facilities (Section 21)
  • Temporary Emergency License (Section 22)
  • Temporary Licensure Measures for Additional Healthcare Providers (Section 23)
  • Critical Access Hospitals (Section 39)
Legislation not passed included:
  • SB 252 – KanCare Expansion
  • SB 493 – Health Care Stabilization Fund
  • HB 2412 – APRN Expanded Scope of Practice without Collaborative Practice Agreement
  • HB 2563 – Increasing the Age to Purchase or Possess Cigarettes, E-cigarettes, & Tobacco Products
  • HB 2570 – Limiting Certain Opioid Prescriptions to Seven-Day Supply
  • HB 2601 – Restricting Authority of KDHE to Specify School Immunization Requirements
We continue to update the COVID-19 resource page on the KAFP website for our members, including most recently, the educational opportunity: Lessons Learned in Finney County.
Be sure to bookmark the COVID-19 web page to easily find all resources in one location. Bookmark https://kafponline.org/COVID-19
Don’t forget to tune into AAFP’s valuable CME opportunities:
Our evolving health care landscape has made telehealth or virtual visits a reality for many medical practices. Using the AAFP’s agenda setting tools may help. The AAFP National Research Network and Division of Practice Advancement developed an AAFP Transformation in Practice Series (TIPS™) resource to specifically address agenda setting. The AAFP TIPS™ Agenda Setting resources provide physicians, care teams, and patients with tools and information to help prepare for and prioritize visits. They are for both provider and patients, and include forms, checklists, scripts, workflow examples, role-playing activities, tips, and more. Agenda setting is a strategy all providers and care teams can benefit from using.
For a limited number of participants, the AAFP National Research Network is conducting an engagement evaluation project where providers can receive up to $200, and patients can receive up to $100 for using the agenda setting resources for visits. Space is limited, so if you would like to participate please contact Cory Lutgen (clutgen@aafp.org or 913-906-6150) for more information

We have a great lineup of Fam Med Forward 2020 virtual resident presentation speakers and topics available for you to view at https://kafponline.org/virtualcme. You may register for one or multiple of these webinars at no charge! Each webinar is approved for 1.0 AAFP Prescribed credit.

Tues, June 9 at 12:15 – 1:15 p.m.

Thurs., June 11 at 12:15 – 1:15 p.m.

Tues., June 16 at 12:15 – 1:15 p.m.


Act now! June 1-5 “Week of Action” ⁠is a first-time virtual event that’s replacing the usual Family Medicine Advocacy Summit. AAFP is rallying members nationwide to schedule online meetings and lobby their elected officials. Our message to lawmakers: stabilize, strengthen, and sustain primary care. The AAFP has prepared detailed, data-driven talking points and backgrounders for you, along with sample tweets and tips for recording video messages optimal for social media. To view these materials and participate in these activities, please join the AAFP’s Family Medicine Action Network. Need your legislator’s information? Can’t access the materials? No problem: email grassroots@aafp.org.


Our first online election was successful with 13 percent of eligible voting members participating — compared to two percent who normally participate in-person during the annual membership meeting.

Congratulations to the following leaders who will serve on the KAFP Board of Directors during the 2020-21 governance year. Each district office is a one-year term. Delegate and alternate delegate seats serve a two-year term.

Secretary: Jared Johnson, MD (Wichita)
Delegate: Jen Brull, MD, FAAFP (Plainville)
Alternate Delegate: Diane Steere, MD (Wichita)
District 2 Director: Tessa Rohrberg, MD (Winfield)
District 4 Director: Jonathan Pike, MD (Great Bend)
District 6 Director: Graig Nickel, MD, FAAFP (Lawrence)
District 8 Director: Derrick Totten, MD, MPH (Colby)

These dedicated leaders will join the following elected volunteers to serve on the 2020-21 Board of Directors as voting members:

President: Chad Johanning, MD, FAAFP (Lawrence)
President-Elect: Jennifer Bacani McKenney, MD, FAAFP (Fredonia)
Vice President: Debra Doubek, MD, FAAFP (Manhattan)
Treasurer: Gretchen Irwin, MD, MBA, FAAFP (Andover)
Board Chair: Sheryl Beard, MD, FAAFP (Andover)
AAFP Delegate: Doug Gruenbacher, MD (Quinter)
Alternate Delegate Lynn Fisher, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)
District 1 Director: Keith Ratzlaff, MD (Olathe)
District 3 Director: Dirk Smith, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)
Distrcit 5 Director: Danelle Perry, MD (Manhattan)
District 7 Director: Jill Linville, MD (Lakin)
KUSM-Kansas City Faculty Director: Margaret Smith, MD, MPH, MHSA, FAAFP
KUSM-Wichita Faculty Director: Rex Keith, MD

We had close races for both contested seats (secretary and district 4). Thank you to all who exercised your membership privilege to vote. We also appreciate the time and dedication of our candidates.


All KAFP members are invited to attend the KAFP Virtual Town Hall meeting on Friday, May 15. This virtual alternative to our annual membership meeting, which has historically taken plan in person during the annual conference, will provide members the opportunity to discuss Academy business, learn about this year’s election process and recognize our 2020 award winners. This virtual meeting will allow for higher member participation and there is no charge to attend. We hope you will join us.

EVENT: KAFP Virtual Town Hall
DATE: Friday, May 15
TIME: 12:15 p.m.



KAFP will conduct online elections from May 15 – 25. Ballots will be distributed via your member email on file with AAFP.  All active, resident and life members in good standing are eligible to vote. Ballots will include the candidate selected by the Nominating Committee, as well as a space for a write-in candidate for each open position to serve on the board of directors. Read the 2020 KAFP board candidates and their statements listed at KAFP Elections.