The Communications Committee is responsible for the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians’ communications and awards. Main responsibilities include content in the Kansas Family Physician quarterly magazine; weekly e-newsletter; website; public relations and the image of the Academy; and solicitation and selection of award winners.

Philip Dooley, MD, FAAFP, Wichita

Lynn Fisher, MD, FAAFP, Plainville

Jason Foster, MD, Fairway

Shelly Gruenbacher, MD, Quinter

Cole Hanich, Olathe

Courtney Huhn, MD, Lansing

Laura Mayans, MD, Wichita

Garrison Olds, Kansas City

Jonathan Pike, MD, Wichita

Kelly Thomson, Kansas City

*Sarah Tully Marks, MD, FAAFP, Olathe

Robin Walker, MD, Maize

Governmental Advocacy

During the legislative session, members of the Governmental Advocacy Committee review health care legislation and help make recommendations to formulate the Academy’s position on bills and in writing/presenting testimony. They are involved in proposing the Academy’s legislative agenda and planning Advocacy Day. Committee members are encouraged to volunteer in the Family Doctor of the Day program.

Meghan Blythe, Prairie Village

Sarah Bradshaw, MD, Overland Park

Zachary Degner, MD, Roeland Park

*Daniel Dickerson, MD, PhD, FAAFP, Eudora

Cheryl Dobson, MD, Wichita

Debra Doubek, MD, Manhattan

Doug Gruenbacher, MD, Quinter

Ben Harstine, Kansas City

*Chad Johanning, MD, FAAFP Lawrence

Norman Kahn, MD, FAAFP, Prairie Village

Erin Locke, MD, MPH, Holton

Jennifer McKenney, MD, FAAFP, Fredonia

Danelle Perry, MD, Manhattan

Scott Rempel, MD, Salina

Jason Taporco, Kansas City


Finance Committee develops the yearly budget, reviews investments, dues, grants and insurance.

*Gretchen Irwin, MD, MBA, FAAFP, Wichita

Todd Miller, MD, FAAFP, Wichita

Membership & Member Services

This committee helps maintain and grow KAFP membership; address member needs and issues; promotes KAFP with Residents, Students, and FMIGs; addresses membership-related issues; and oversees the physician wellness and RISE activities.

Cooper Nickel, MD, Salina

Emily Lenherr, Salina

Jessica Paxson, MD, Park City

John Feehan, MD, FAAFP, Olathe

Keith Ratzlaff, MD, Olathe

Kelsie Kelly, MD, Kansas City

Marissa Weaver, Andover

*Melissa Rosso, MD, Manhattan

Patricia Fitzgibbons, MD, Kansas City

Rick Kellerman, MD, FAAFP, Wichita

Sabrina Markese, MD, Olathe

Tessa Rohrberg, MD, Winfield

Courtney Huhn, MD, Lansing

Practice Enhancement

This committee addresses practice transformation, scope of practice, credentialing, integration of technology into practice, improved reimbursement, ACOs, third party payer relations/issues, and payment reform.

Jen Brull, MD, FAAFP, Plainville

Christina Cheng, MD, Kansas City

Jasmine Estrada, Overland Park

Robert Freelove, MD, Salina

Shana Jarmer, MD, Wellington

Drew Miller, MD, Lakin

John Saxer, MD, FAAFP, Overland Park

*Diane Steere, MD, Wichita

Dereck Totten, MD, MPH, Colby

Professional Development

The Professional Development Committee works closely with the EVP to plan each year’s Annual Meeting and other CME offerings.

Patrick Allen, MD, FAAFP, Wichita

Sheryl Beard, MD, FAAFP, Andover

Allen Greiner, MD, Kansas City

Maci Hicks, Salina

Erin Hoffman, DO, Wichita

Jared Johnson, MD, Wichita

Tara Neil, MD, Wichita

*Beth Oller, MD, Stockton

Aleksandra Siwkiewicz, MD, Lenexa

Margaret Smith, MD, FAAFP Kansas City

Scott Stringfield, MD, FAAFP Wichita

Belinda Vail, MD, FAAFP, Kansas City

Nicole Yedlinsky, MD, FAAFP, Lansing

*Committee Chair