Nominations for the 2023 KAFP Awards have now ended. We will update this page with 2024 deadlines this fall.

The following awards are sponsored by the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians to recognize the outstanding work of our members within their practices, for their patients and in their communities.

Click on the icon or award name for more information.

  • Kansas Family Physician of the Year

    This award recognizes a KAFP physician member living and working in Kansas who is directly and effectively involved in community affairs and activities that enhance the community and patients’ quality of life.

  • Rising Star Award

    This award recognizes a Kansas physician member who has practiced fewer than 10  years after residency or fellowship training and is a rising star in leadership within their local community and family medicine.

  • Kansas Exemplary Teaching Award

    These awards recognize KAFP members who are exemplary educators. The awards are given to physicians who have demonstrated excellent teaching skills, have implemented outstanding educational programs and/or developed innovative teaching models. Separate awards honor full-time, part-time and volunteer educators.

  • Kansas Humanitarian Award

    Presented at the discretion of the Communications and Awards Committee, this award recognizes extraordinary and enduring humanitarian efforts by a Kansas physician.

The following awards and scholarships are sponsored by the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians Foundation to recognize the outstanding achievements of Kansas family medicine residents and students.

Click the icon below to learn more about Foundation scholarships and awards.

  • Student Leader in Family Medicine Award

    The KAFP Foundation is now accepting applications for the  Student Leader in Family Medicine Award. This award is designed to honor third-year medical students from any Kansas medical school who has plans of going into family medicine. Award recipients will be identified and presented with a $250 award.

  • KAFP Foundation Presidential Award

    This award recognizes a Kansas physician member for outstanding leadership, personal commitment and heartfelt desire to give back to the profession of family medicine in Kansas through the KAFP Foundation.

AAFP Awardees from Kansas

Congratulations to the following members who have been recognized by the American Academy  of Family Physicians for national achievement. If you would like more information on AAFP national awards, please contact the KAFP or visit the AAFP website.

  • AAFP Family Physician of the Year

    National Recipient

    1996     Don Goering, MD (Coldwater)

    Honorable Mention (Top 5 nominee)

    2007     Paul H. Davis, MD (Wichita)
    2005     Earl Merkel, MD, FAAFP (Russell)
    2003     Rick Rajewski, MD, FAAFP (Hays)

  • AAFP Exemplary Teaching Award

    Part Time/Full Time Faculty Category

    2005     Michael Machen, MD (Quinter) (part time)

    Volunteer Faculty Category

    2021    Shelly Gruenbacher, MD (Quinter)
    2020    Edward Lind, MD, FAAFP (Derby)
    2018     Todd Miller, MD (Wichita)
    2017     Stephen Hawks, DO (Wellington)
    2012     Mary Beth Miller, MD (St. Francis)
    2011     David Netherton, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)
    2009     Barbara Coats, MD (Wichita)
    2008     Cathy Woodring, MD (Wichita)
    2005     Larry Anderson, MD, FAAFP (Wellington)
    2003     Steve Penner, MD (Wichita)
    2001     C. Joseph O’Donnell, DO (Wichita)
    2000     Ronald C. Brown, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)
    1999     Diane Nightengale, MD, FAAFP (El Dorado)
    1998     Charles Stephens, MD, FAAFP (Minneola)

  • Thomas W. Johnson Award for Outstanding Contribution to Family Medicine Education

    2014     Perry Pugno, MD (Delaware, OH)
    2013     Dan Ostergaard, MD (Olathe)
    2008     Norman J. Kahn, MD (Prairie Village)

  • Outstanding Program Director Award from AAFP/AFMRD

    2009     Paul Callaway, MD (Wichita)