Carol A Johnson MD Family Medicine International Mission Scholarship

About the scholarship

Established in 2014 by family and friends of Carol A. Johnson, MD, this scholarship provides financial awards annually to family medicine residents in their 2nd or 3rd year of residency who are going on an international medical mission.

About Dr. Johnson

Dr. Johnson was a beloved member of KAFP who served as president of both KAFP and KAFP Foundation during her life. She had a heart for international missions and was honored as the 2012 winner of the KAFP Humanitarian Award for the many medical missions in which she participated. Following her death in 2013 many family, friends and colleagues contributed financially to establish this scholarship and provide family medicine residents the opportunity to participate in an international mission.

Scholarship criteria

The scholarship is designed to recognize residents with a heart for international medical missions who meet the following criteria.

  • Traveling to an area of the world that clearly needs physicians.
  • Currently in their 2nd or 3rd year of family medicine residency in Kansas.
Application requirements
  • Completed application form
  • CV
  • Personal essay, not more than two pages, describing where the applicant is traveling to for their mission, the scope of the project they will be working on, and how they intend to utilize the funding.
  • Letter of support from applicant’s residency program director indicating the applicant is in good standing with the residency program.
  • Optional: Letter of support from the agency/program with which the applicant is working with.
  • Oct. 16: Applications open
  • Jan. 15: Applications due
  • February 2024: KAFP Foundation Board of Trustees to select and notify recipients
  • May 7: Recognition during the Awards Luncheon at Fam Med Forward
Expectations & Scholarship Award

The recipients are expected to attend the KAFP’s annual conference, Fam Med Forward June 7, 2024 where they will be recognized at the Awards Luncheon where they receive a plaque and their scholarship payment. 2024 scholarship recipients are invited to present at the 2025 Fam Med Forward on the outcomes of their mission work.

Carol A Johnson, MD

  • 2023: Michael Falahat, MD & Joy Ogundare, MD
  • 2020: Sarah Johnson, MD & Gurneet Matharoo, MD
  • 2019: Erin Hoffman, DO & Theresia Neill, MD
  • 2018: Ellen Abell, MD & Andrew Ross, MD
  • 2017: Brandon R. Cole, DO
  • 2016: Bonnie Cassidy, MD
  • 2015: Brett Hoffecker, MD
  • 2014: Andrew Posey, DO