Kansas Exemplary Teaching Awards

Eligibility criteria:

  • Only full-time, part-time or volunteer faculty members currently teaching in Kansas are eligible for these awards
  • All nominees must be a current member of the KAFP and in good standing.
  • Awards may be issued in both the full-time and part-time categories each year, but they will not necessarily both be awarded each year.

Selection criteria:

  • Recognized for exemplary teaching skills and outstanding progression of abilities over several years by medical students, residents or peers; or
  • Developed and implemented innovative curriculum, teaching model(s) or program(s) in a variety of educational spheres; and
  • Demonstrates inspirational leadership skills among colleagues and students.
    Supports equitable and evidence-based medicine for all Kansans.

Nominate physicians for the Exemplary Teaching Awards

Nominations for this year’s KAFP awards are open through Monday, Jan. 15, 2024. Click the buttons below to nominate physicians for Exemplary Teaching Awards. Indicate on the form if you’re nominating for full- or part-time faculty or volunteer faculty.

2023    Gretchen Irwin, MD, FAAFP, MBA (Wichita)

2022    Andrew Porter, DO, FAAFP (Wichita)

2021    Tracy Williams, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)

2020    Philip Dooley, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)

2019     Amy Curry, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)

2018     Patricia Fitzgibbons, MD (Kansas City)

2017     M. Chantel Long, MD (Salina)

2016     Tara Neil, MD (Wichita)

2015    Douglas C. Woolley, MD, MPH, FAAFP (Wichita) 

2014     Michael Kennedy, MD, FAAFP (Kansas City)

2013     Donald Milligan, MD, FAAFP (Kansas City)

2012     Robert Freelove, MD (Salina)

2011     Mary Boyce, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)

2010     Robert Kraft, MD (Salina)

2009     Mary McDonald, MD (Kansas City)

2008     David Miller, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)

2007     Anne Walling, MD (Wichita)

2006     Donna Ewy, MD, FAAFP (Newton)

2006     Deborah Outwater, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)

2005    Michael Machen, MD (Quinter)

2005     Charles Allred, MD (Salina)

2004     Leslie Greenberg, MD (Wichita)

2004     Ruth Weber, MD (Wichita)

2003     Ron Mace, MD (Junction City)

2003     Belinda Vail, MD, FAAFP (Kansas City)

2002     Tim Scanlan, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)

2002     Rebecca Ruble, MD (Kansas City)

2001     Marla Ullom-Minnich, MD (Moundridge)

2001     Mark C. Meyer, MD (Kansas City)

2000     John M. Feehan, MD, FAAFP (Olathe)

2000     David C. Hanson, MD (Salina)

1999     John Dorsch, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)

1999     Paul Callaway, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)

1998     Greg Thomas, MD, FAAFP (McPherson)

1998     Paul Jaster, MD (Salina)

1997     Scott Stringfield, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)

1997     Scott Moser, MD, FAAFP (Wichita)

*Names in bold indicate award recipients who won the same category in AAFP

2023    Mark Leiker, MD (Wichita)

2022    Donna Logan, MD (Wichita)

2021    Shelly Gruenbacher, MD (Quinter)

2020    Edward Lind, MD, FAAFP (Derby)

2019    Marty W. Turner, MD, FAAFP (Rose Hill)

2018    Todd Miller, MD (Wichita)

2017    Steve Hawks, DO (Wellington)

2016 Joe Davison, MD (Wichita)

2015 Jacques Blackman, MD (Wichita)

2014 Randall Goering, MD, (Newton)

2013 Kevin Hoppock, MD (Wichita)

2012 Mary Beth Miller, MD (St. Francis)

2011 David Netherton, MD (Wichita)

2010 Stan Mosier, MD, and Jim Hartley, MD (Andover)

2009 Barbara Coats, MD (Wichita) 

2008 Cathy Woodring, MD (Wichita)

2007 Richard Egelhof, MD (Wichita)

2006 Donna Ewy, MD (Newton)

2005 Larry Anderson, MD (Wellington)

2004 Randy Henwood, MD (Wichita)

2003 Steve Penner, MD (Wichita) 

2002 Diane Klingman, MD (Wichita)

2001 C. Joseph O’Donnell, DO (Wichita)

2000 Ronald C. Brown, MD (Wichita)

1999 Diane Nightengale, MD (El Dorado) 

1998 Charles Stephens, MD (Minneola) 

*Recipients in bold also won their award category from the AAFP